CIMT Vision & Mission

Commitment to Excellence

IMT-GT is a sub-regional cooperation initiative formed by the governments of the three countries in 1993 to speed the economic transformation in their least-developed provinces.

The cooperation further seeks to promote the welfare and economic growth of the people living in the areas covered by the IMT-GT.

The IMT-GT currently consists of 14 provinces in Southern Thailand (Krabi, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phattalung, Satun, Songkhla, Trang, Yala, Chumphon, Ranong, Surat Thani, Phang Nga and Phuket), 8 states in Malaysia (Kedah, Kelantan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Penang, Perak, Perlis and Selangor) and 10 provinces in the island of Sumatra in Indonesia (Aceh, Bangka-Belitung, Bengkulu, Jambi, Lampung, North Sumatra, Riau, Riau Islands, South Sumatra, andWest Sumatra).

The IMT-GT economy is on the upswing with gross domestic product (GDP). Data shows that GDP per person in IMT-GT is higher than in the Asean region and is still increasing, while the unemployment rate and poverty incidence is declining.

CIMT would contribute significantly in ensuring effective delivery of IMT-GT programmes and projects.

CIMT’s objective is to accelerate sub-regional cooperation by providing a more cohesive institutional structure to coordinate and facilitate projects.

Among its specific mandates are to strengthen coordination mechanisms and consultation processes among IMT-GT institutions in the subregion as well as provide institutional framework to support public and private sector activities apart from improving facilitation and implementation of priority projects and monitoring and evaluations of projects agreements.